Heaven

“When I was in high school, we had to read The Catcher in the Rye by J.D. Salinger. I liked the book, but I don’t know why. I go back and read it sometimes, but now it annoys me. But I still remember scenes. I remember Holden Caulfield in the back of a taxi, asking the driver where the ducks in Central Park go in the winter. And I remember the nuns asking for donations. I remember the last scene in the book, too, when you realize he’d been telling the story to a counselor in a nuthouse. I wonder if that’s what we’ll do with God when we are through with all this, if he’ll show us around heaven, all the light coming in through windows a thousand miles away, all the fields sweeping down to a couple of chairs under a tree, in a field outside the city. And we’ll sit and tell him our stories, and he’ll smile and tell us what they mean.

“I just hope I have something interesting to say.”

Donald Miller, A Million Miles in a Thousand Years

One thought on “Heaven”

  1. This quote of D.M.’s takes me back to “The Shack”, and I think in that book we were given such an amazing picture of God and I think that our relationship with our Father, is something that is absolutely soul moving — and I pray that this is what a part of heaven will be like.

Leave a Reply

