The Story I Find Myself In (2010 Edition)

After a longer-than-expected absense due in part to the end of the semester, the Christmas season, and recovering from a recent surgery, I’m back in school and back online. So Happy New Year to everyone.

As part of what has become a very long journey through the orthodontic world, I had major surgery done over break to align my upper and lower jaws, which have been misaligned for as long as I can remember. We’ve been working toward this surgery for several years now, waiting for everything to stop growing and for the insurance to go through. Thankfully, insurance, which has been a rather dicey matter in the area of dental care, came through and allowed the surgery to go through with our chosen surgeon. December 16th came fast, and after a three hour surgery (the details of which I will spare you) I woke to find myself looking much like an obese chipmunk from the swelling that occured as a result of them messing under my skin. And since the swelling is not completely gone yet and there is still some work to be done, the before and after pictures are still coming. For a glimpse of some of what they did, this website explains it a bit (and I promise, no gross bloody pictures).

In my lovely two weeks of recovery, medications, swelling, and liquid diet, I had a lot of down time, which gave me plenty of opportunity to work through a reading list I had been writing in my mind leading up to break. After about the third book my list came to an end, so I ad libbed a bit and came up with the following list of books I was able to get through over break (all of which I would recommend):

Definitely more than I expected to be able to get through, but I’m not complaining.

Yet another adventure I find myself in – At the end of last semester, after much thinking and discussing the matter, I decided to take up a second major. Not everyone in my circles is aware that I’m no longer an English education major, as I was at the beginning of my time here at Cedarville, and I don’t know that I ever addressed the change. After a summer of camp ministry I decided to take this ministry thing seriously. Over the summer a lot of the lies I had convinced myself of disappeared or were refuted. Beginning of last semester I switched all my classes the day before classes started. Now, the beginning of this semester, I’ve taken up a worship major, doubling up on majors in the hope of getting into a ministry where I can lead worship and a youth group, or one or the other. So this semester I find myself in vocal lessons, worship classes… whole new territory.

Some of whats on tap for this semester:

Youth Culture 101 by Walt Mueller, Your First Two Years in Youth Ministry by Doug Fields, The Lost Letters of Pergamum by Bruce Longenecker, among others. Youth Ministries, New Testament Literature, Worship Technologies, Contemporary Voice, etc.

In the spirit of Don Miller, good stories need conflict, they need the character to be pushed out the door… the hobbits must leave the Shire for there to be a Lord of the Rings. At this point I feel overwhelmed with two majors and disappearing semesters to complete everything, but if I never try I’ll never know.

‘People love to have lived a great story, but few people like the work it takes to make it happen. But joy costs pain.’

Donald Miller, A Million Miles in a Thousand Years

One thought on “The Story I Find Myself In (2010 Edition)”

Leave a Reply

